What’s the Lowe Down on the Braves

First- Sorry for the cheesy title.

Second- Sorry I didn’t blog yesterday. I was studying for a big test in science and had a basketball game, we won!
Third- B.J. Upton may miss opening day for the Rays.
Fourth- The Rays signed Gabe Gross.
Fifth- The Marlins are interested in Chad Cordero.
Sixth- The Brewers officially signed Trevor Hoffman.
Seventh- John Smoltz officially signed with Boston.
Eighth- Andruw Jones is close to leaving the Dodgers.
Ninth- Bartolo Colon is close to going back to the Chicago White Sox.
Tenth- My Celtics have won three in a row!
Eleventh- Cox Communications, a TV station in San Diego, got a new play by play guy for the Padres. Guess who it is??? My Godfather, Mark Neely!!! I’m not kidding, I swear.
Yesterday the Atlanta Braves signed former Boston Red Sox, Derek Lowe on a four year deal. I know some of my readers hoped that Derek Lowe would sign with the Red Sox. I thought he would sign with the New York Mets. The sinker baller was formerly with the Los Angeles Dodgers. The same day Boston officially signed former Atlanta Brave legend John Smoltz. The Braves now have a great rotation featuring of Lowe, Javier Vazquez who they traded for this offseason, Jair Jurrjens, Kenshin Kawakami, and the fifth spot is open to Tim Hudson who had tommy john surgery last year, Jorge Campillo, Jo-Jo Reyes, Charlie Morton, and James Parr. It will probably be Tim Hudson. The Braves are now interested in a power hitting right fielder to start and not Matt Diaz. They could also move Matt Diaz to centerfield. The Braves want Xavier Nady or Nick Swisher who are both on the New York Yankees. Nick Swisher hasn’t played a game with the Yankees because he was traded from the Chicago White Sox this offseason. Nady was with the Pirates then got traded to the New York Yankees in midseason. Swisher is under contact till 2011 while Nady will probably become a free agent at the end of the 2009 season. I think the Braves will trade for Swisher. I think the Yankees will want one or two minor leaguers and maybe Josh Anderson or Manny Acosta. The Braves will probably try to put a starting pitcher in there since they have nine. The deal will probably include Acosta though, because the Yankees have more “power.” If I was the G.M. of the Braves I would do the deal.
Sept. 9, 2002 Derek Lowe got the win, going six innings and giving up three earned runs. Lowe was ejected in the seventh inning by umpire Jerry Crawford for hitting Felix Escalona. Grady Little was shown the gate by Crawford for arguing Lowe's ejection.
7 comments

  1. juliasrants

    Hey Bigpapi – I hope you did well on the Science Test (I coach a competitive academic science team so I know how important science is!) and congrats on the basketball win! Both of my boys play B-ball so I know how hard you work. I think Smoltz will work out great for us and I find it hard to believe that a team actually wants Colon. It will be interesting to see how that workd out.

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  2. Darion

    Lowe should be a great addition to the Braves. What was was an offseason to forget just turned into an offseason to remember and the one that could help us get into the playoffs. I am very disappointed you guys signed Smoltz, but I hope he does great with you guys. After we get Andruw, I think we will end up with Swisher or Nady. Dunn is a possibility if we can get him cheap. I wouldn’t mind getting Nady or Swisher if Manny Acosta is the big player in it. That would be an absolute steal in my opinion.
    http://darion.mlblogs.com/

  3. welikeroywelikeroy

    Never before have the Braves had to manuver their rotation that much. The Smoltz, Glavine, Maddux era ended with Smoltz offically leaving. Well Glavine, uhh, forget about it. Lowe got the money, it will be interesting to see if he outpitches A.J. Burnett this season. They were both going for around the same money, Lowe was overwhelming thought of as the safer pick, but the Yankees went with A.J. Should be interesting to see. Congratulations on the ranking.
    http://homerfoodandhistory.mlblogs.com/

  4. Elizabeth D

    Hope you did well on the science test–I have a Geometry one tomorrow and I don’t know what I’m doing! Congrats on the basketball game!! Why is BJ Upton going to miss Opening Day for the Rays? Andruw Jones might actually go back to the Braves, I think that he can surely bounce back! I think the Braves should try and trade for Nady ideally–he’s better than Swisher.
    That is SO cool that your godfather is now the play by play guy for Cox Communications!!
    -Elizabeth
    http://redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

  5. bigpapi72

    Julia- It will be interesting to see how Colon does.

    Darion- To be honest I don’t think Dunn would be a possibility.

    Homer- Thanks, It will be interesting to see Lowe and A.J.

    Kaybee- I kind of know him.

    Elizabeth- I would trade for Swisher because he can play first and outfield and he is also under contract for a little longer.

  6. hardballblog

    The Braves definitely needed to land Lowe. Now their pitching staff can be the best in the division. If Atlanta can find a solid power bat to play left field the Braves will be contenders this year. I wouldn’t mind if they traded to have Nady for one year since Jason Heyward is looking so promising. It wouldn’t be a huge loss to have him leave for free agency.
    http://hardballblog.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

