Red Sox Nation Explores Paris

Congrats to Jimmy for guessing that the 1903 Boston Americans had the lowest payroll and won a World Series. The Americans were the first World Series winner ever!
************************************************************************************************************
Before I begin I must say that I am sorry for not posting in a while. I have been very busy with school, sports, etc. But I am back so here I go.
Arc De Triomphe
of=50,296,442.jpeg
The Arc De Triomph or Arc of Triumph in English was built to remember those you died in the French Revolution. On the inside are names of all the generals that fought in the war and under the arc is the tomb of the unknown solider. The tomb of the unknown solider is where a solider form World War I that is unknown is buried. The tomb is not just for that one solider. It is in honor of every unknown solider in World War I and World War II. In 1961 when John F. Kennedy went to visit Paris they paid their respects to the tomb of the unknown solider. In 1963 when Kennedy was assassinated Jacqueline Kennedy asked that an eternal flame like the one at the tomb of the unknown solider be placed next to her husband’s grave. Some of the architect is lets just say disturbing. If you want to walk to the top you can either climb 284 stairs or take a lift and walk only 46 steps. The lift was closed though so we walked up the steps. My sister was counting the steps the whole time and got mad when we were looking in the gift shop and she lost count. Towards the top are two little “museums” where you can learn about other arcs, the architect, and other things. When we got to the top you could see the whole city of Paris. The main sight was the Eiffel Tower and since it was night it was all light up in lights. It was really cool being 162 feet high looking down at the 20th (different websites say different things) largest city in the world. This is a must see sight no matter what. If you are afraid of heights then just do not go to the top. The Arc often gets overshadowed by the Eiffel Tower but it should not be. I think that both are equal. The Eiffel Tower probably has an edge because of why it was built. More on that in the next part though. 
of=50,296,442-1.jpeg
Eiffel Tower

of=50,296,442-2.jpeg

The Eiffel Tower was built from 1887-1889 for the World’s Fair which marked the 100th anniversary of the French Revolution. The tower was named after its builder, Alexandre Gustave Eiffel. The tower is the tallest building in Paris standing 1,063 feet. It has many functions. There are two restaurants, a radio broadcasting tower, and the most obvious a tourist destination. The tower broadcasts four radio stations and six T.V. stations including TF1 and France Musique 96.5. The Eiffel Tower’s two restaurants are Altitude 95 and Jules Verne. Altitude 95 is on the first floor and is 95 meters above sea level. Jules Verne is on the second floor and is very expensive. People have to make reservations months before the go there. Jules Verne has its own private lift to get to the second floor. If you want to get to the tip top of the Eiffel Tower well . . . you can not. You can however go to the second and third floors. They refer to the ground as the first floor. All you need is a ticket . . . and know how to deal with annoying people. Luckily for me I know how to because of my sister. 🙂 The whole time while were were waiting a bunch a guys were trying to sell people these knockoff gifts all worth one euro. One Euro is about one dollar and 40 cents. I am sure as soon as you got home they would stop working or brake so we just watched them get turned away by people Now before I go on I want to tell a story. When we were walking there on Thursday we saw some steps. My mom fell down them. She got up and was fine. Two minutes later so was not so lucky. While taking pictures she fell down some stairs again and hurt her ankle. At first we thought she just twisted it and needed to walk around. It turns out she walked four days on an ankle with a bunch of torn tendons in her ankle. We found that out Sunday when we got back from Paris. Her ankle is better but is still not 100 percent. Anyway we went to second floor and it was a disappointment form me. I guess it would not have been if we went there
first and not the Arc de Triomphe. The Eiffel Tower is a must see sight still.
of=50,590,394-1.jpeg
of=50,590,394-2.jpeg
The Food

The food was well . . . different. We had cresaunts, pastry, and ton of other things. I did not get the chance to try snails or frog legs though. I kind of wanted to try snails but there was no way I was eating frog legs. My favorite food was believe it or not Italian food. We went to two Italian places where I had ravioli and Hawaiian pizza (pizza with pineapple and ham). I am not sure what the restaurants where called but I learned that do not go for the ones that have the best location. Go to the ones close by but a little a way. There was this one pastry shop that was really good. I was saved when I saw this. I thought this was really funny mostly because down the street they ha a real hot dog. One day we took a train to Normady and saw the D-Day beaches and all that. We had no food the whole day so we were starving! We went to two restaurants and not a single waiter served us. I am not sure what they were called but one had some weird name that had to do with hippos. Then on the plane coming back the food was terrible. So the French do not make the best food besides cresaunts and bread.
Now I know I could have blogged about many other things like The Louvre, the Normady D-Day tours, or the really bad double decker bus tour from “L’Open Tour” (which stunk) but I have worked on this entry for a long time and am running out now.
Here are some bonus pictures that I promised you guys.
of=50,296,442-3.jpeg
Notre Dame
of=50,590,394-3.jpeg
The Mona Lisa
of=50,590,394-4.jpeg
The Swiss Alps, wear I went skiing
of=50,590,394.jpeg
A big glacier in the Swiss Alps
of=50,590,394-7.jpeg
The D-Day beaches
of=50,590,394-6.jpeg
A D-Day gun at one of the sights
of=50,590,394-5.jpeg
The D-Day cemetery
It is just kind of I do not know the right word but when you think of how many people died for our freedom it is just I do not now and this was just one part I think there were ten total parts. I am at a loss of words right now. I mean I remember seeing on TV a kid going up to a solider and saying thank you.
********************************************************************************************************Today’s trivia is in honor of all who have died for our countries freedom. “Name five major league players that left four World War II.”
Photo Credits
All- Thanks Mom 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

