Will Curt Get The Call To The Hall?

Well I only got two commenters from yesterday’s blog. 😦 So I am leaving the question open for one more day.

************************************************************************************************************
Also remember to vote for me in Max Madness! As of 8:35 eastern time I am winning 53% to 48%. A very close battle indeed!
Gone From The Game . . . For Now
38 Pitches
On Monday the game of baseball had a pitcher leave. That pitcher being possibly the best postseason pitcher of all-time, Curt Schilling.  At 9:37 eastern time Shilling announced his retirement on his blog, 38 Pitches. That one entry has over 1,200 comments (see that’s how many comments I will be getting after I am the closer for the Red Sox.) 🙂 Curt finished his carer with 216-146 record, an ERA of 3.46, and 3,116 strikeouts. He is one of only sixteen pitchers to have over 3,000 strikeouts. In the postseason he was just amazing. He went 11-2 with a 2.23 ERA and 120 strikeouts. Curt made four World Series and won three of them. Curt is a six time all star who played with the Baltimore Orioles, the Houston Astros, Philadelphia Phillies, Arizona Diamondbacks, and the Boston Red Sox. In 2004 Curt had a TV add saying that he was coming to Boston to end an 86 year curse and you know what? Curt is an honest man. That year he beat the Yankees (along with his bloody sock) and beat the Cardinals in the World Series. Three years later he did it again. I mean I could write ten entries about his postseason success but I do not have that kind of time. So know two questions remain unanswered. We Curt get the call for the hall? Also will he ever come back to the dugout or go to the press boxes? Well I see Curt making the hall on believe it or not his first try. Every radio dude and most writers I have heard/read have all said they would vote for Schilling but they do not think he will get in. Well I have heard/read probably around 50 guys so that would give him about one tenth of the vote already. Now could we see Curt in the dugout or up in the press box soon? I could see him in the dugout as a manger or a pitching coach, maybe for the Rays or Cubs like he said before. Now there is no way he would be manager for the Rays or Cubs so I guess him being a pitching coach is more likely. Now he also has a good chance of being in the press boxes. As a stated before Curt already has a blog and I think he would be very insightful in the press boxes like Sean Casey is on MLB Network. Both have played with and/or against manny (opps how did that slip in there) of the current MLB players. Now I do not think Curt will work for NESN because we already have two great announcers including the one and only Jerry Remy! Shilling’s last game will be game two of the World Series. That is a thing any kid would dream of once doing.
*UPDATE* I watched some March Madness and now is 10:00 eastern time. I am winning 56% to it 44%.*


curt-schilling-bloody-sock.jpg



Randy Johnson and Curt Schilling


Photo Credits
1- 38pitches.weei.com
2 redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com
3- espn.go.com
4- search.espn.go.com

************************************************************************************************************All right today’s question is , “Name five MLB players who left for World War II.” This has manny possible answers  so good luck!
5 comments

  1. Orangebird

    CONGRATS!! I however am in need of a boost, I just went of the Top 50!!!:( All Ideas are welcome!!!! I will practillly anything (key word practilly) Also the answer to your trivia question is: Yogi Berra, Bob Feller, Hank Greenberg, Pee Wee Reese, Stan Musial, Ted Williams, Warren Spahn, Phil Rizzuto
    Jordan
    http://upin36011cc.mlblogs.com/

Leave a Reply

