A Bad Day In Baseball

First off I am sorry I have not been blogging lately. This whole week I have had drama practice along with a baseball game on Tuesday and on Thursday I had my drama show. In case you were wondering we did Peter Pan and I was John, the kid with the glasses. Friday I went to the Astros game because my godmother’s husband is the announcer for the San Diego Padres. Sunday I will get to go up into the booth and I will show you pictures of both games.
Wow lots of steroid news lately. Ugh . . . Can we just ban steroids from the USA or something. Well I guess that would not even work because the Blue Jays are in Canada and many players come from outside of the USA. But until someone solves this problem you will be seeing posts like these.
Manny, Manny, Manny. Wow, I really did not expect this. I mean I usually say my least favorite players (A-Rod, Jeter, etc.) took steroids but most of the time I joke around about that stuff. Well when the news about A-Rod happened then I would joke around that I was right.
However I never would have thought Manny would have done this. Believe it or not I fell sorry for Manny. Even though Manny did do something illegal he should not be suspended for 50 games. He did not do HGH or something like that. It is pretty strange what he took but he did not make him self stronger with the drug. If I was Bud Selig I would have suspended him for 30 games. I know rules are rules but they need to make it so if you take illegal substances besides steroids suspended you for 30 games and HGH and other steroids suspended you for 50 games.
Believe it or not Manny is still one of my favorite players. I have never been mad at him just very . . . very irritated. I do not believe in all that junk people said about Manny and why he left Boston. If it was not for Manny the Red Sox would not have won the 2004 World Series and maybe not the 2007 World Series. Sure he was a terrible fielder but up until the end he was a good person in the clubhouse.
The one problem is the facts are not all right. Just read what Manny had to say. 

“Recently I saw a physician for a personal health issue. He gave me a medication, not a steroid, which he thought was OK to give me. Unfortunately, the medication was banned under our drug policy. Under the policy that mistake is now my responsibility. I have been advised not to say anything more for now. I do want to say one other thing; I’ve taken and passed about 15 drug tests over the past five seasons. I want to apologize to Mr. McCourt, Mrs. McCourt, Mr. Torre, my teammates, the Dodger organization, and to the Dodger fans. LA is a special place to me and I know everybody is disappointed. So am I. I’m sorry about this whole situation.” 
Why did the doctor not know that it was banned. Was the doctor a Padres, Giant, or Angel fan? Just kidding If he did know about that and he was a fan of another team well can I just say jerk! If When I play in the MLB I am going to ask if this medicine or whatever is legal before I eat it or whatever.
The Dodgers should somewhat be thankful. What if MLB suspended Manny in September. Then LA would lost him for the postseason. Every one said who ever got Manny would win the west well I think it nows relies on another Dodger. More on him in the next few days though. But whoever guess correct will get a prize. Manny will come back sometime around July third which is better then October third.
Now one of the big questions that pops up is how will this effect his Hall of Fame voting. This one is very, very hard. He did not use HGH but many Hall of Fame voters want to be consistent. If they did not vote for McGwire they will probably not vote for Bonds or Clemens. However I would vote for Manny if I could vote. It might take longer then say Ted Williams but I think it will take him six to nine years for him to get in.
The problem is though I wonder how kids fell. No I do not mean me I mean little kids in say first grade. The probably do not understand all of the steroid stuff. So what do the parents say to them. Do they tell them Manny got hurt or do they say he took HGH and not the real stuff he took. I do not know since well I am not a parent but if you are I would like to know what you would say if your kid was around seven.
The problem is though Manny just added to the list of Red Sox juicers. Now I doubt he took them with Boston but what about Roger Clemens and many say Mo Vaughn took steroids. A few people at school say Big Papi took steroids and one person told me Jon Lester took legal steroids when recovering from cancer. I could care less about Lester taking steroids because if he did they where legal.  Now maybe I am just over reacting but maybe I should be worried. I mean the Yankees only player I can think of that took steroids was A-Rod.
Speaking of A-Rod what was that !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Why did he have to do that! What about karma! Was being out for the season it! I do not care if he hits home runs but on his first at bat! I would have loved him to strike out. I mean kids know he took steroids. I some ways he is “telling” kids that steroids make you hit home runs. They somewhat do but think of all the bad things they do. It is gross and disturbing.
I do not want to go to much into A-Rod because that really is old news but before I go I would like to send my thoughts and prayers to the families of Dom DiMaggio and former Detroit Piston’s coach Chuck Daly.
7 comments

  1. juliasrants

    Bob – the problem with Manny is 1. The drug he took is often taken by users when they are coming off a cycle of steroids; 2. He had a method to know what was and wasn’t okay to take – he could have sent it to be tested before he took it; 3. He took something after he knew what the rules were and he knew that the probability of getting caught was high. I don’t think the punishment for players who use is high enough. One of the baseball players’ blogs that I read feels the same way. He is concerned that kids will look at Manny and say – okay he has to sit out a few games and lose some money BUT he is still making a huge salary and has a job waiting for him. That is a very good point. There is NO excuse to be using anything illegal these days. And you are right about Jon Lester – there are very legal uses for steroids. Cancer patients, people with lung ailments (like asthma) all have to take steroids and there is a big difference between those and what players are illegally using.

    Have fun at the game and look forward to the pictures.

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

  2. ohy22xd

    Have fun inside the booth. Tell your godfather I said hi! JK. You got an autograph from David Eckstein??? You are soooooo lucky!!! Can you send it to me? LOL. Julia said pretty much everything I was about to say about Manny. He’s a jerk.
    http://hyunyoung.mlblogs.com

  3. Elizabeth D

    Bob,
    I’ve been pretty busy too recuperating from my monstrous AP US History exam. But I hope your Peter Pan show went well! That’s so cool that you get to go into the booth! I can’t wait for the pictures.
    And in my (humble) opinion, I hold Manny in the same regards as A-Rod. I was livid when A-Rod was found doing steroids, and the same feelings apply to Manny. Punishments should be harsher in my opinion.
    Elizabeth
    http://redsoxgirl46.mlblogs.com

Leave a Reply

